En Français!!

Okay, so I really like French.  The language, the country, the culture, the people…in fact I’m taking two French classes next semester and I’m very, very excited.  I’m not sure why I like French so much, I just do.  Most of my friends think that French is hard (which I could’ve attested to that a while ago), but now I think it’s pretty easy (but I shouldn’t boast too much).  I really like the language.

But I still don’t understand French music when I listen to it.  I only understand certain words, not whole sentences which is sometimes very frustrating.  For example , the only phrase that I understand in Carla Bruni’s “Quelqu’un m’a dit,” is “Quelqu’un m’a dit.” I know it’s pretty pitiful, but listening is not my strong suit.  Listening to  Yann Tiersen’s “Bagatelle”…forget it.  My French professor last semester was actually French so I was able to pick up a better French accent from listening to her throughout the semester.  At first I was pretty intimidated but I surprised myself when I was able to understand her (score!).  I don’t spend a lot of time outside of class working on my speaking and listening, but I want to change that.  I would try talking with my friends, but they take Spanish…and they don’t really like French.

How am I going to “French it up?”

Read French books, listen to French interviews, and watch French videos and movies until my ears bleed (not literally).

Le temps est un grand maître, dit-on, le malheur est qu’il tue ses élèves.
We say that time is a great teacher. It’s too bad that it also kills all its students.
Berlioz.

 

2 thoughts on “En Français!!

  1. I have a feeling you and I would get along well 😉 hehe
    “I’m not sure why I like French so much, I just do.” <- exactly how I feel. When my friends ask me why I'm so crazy about French (language, country, etc) when I never even been to the country itself… my answer is always,"I just do".

    But I am going to have to be on your friends' side when it comes to saying that the language seems difficult. I don't know how I'm going to memorize all the verb conjugations and grammar rules! But I'm determined to pull through it!

    As for "Frenching it up", I am listening to French podcasts whenever I am free/not doing anything useful. Since I don't have any French friends or fluent French speaking people around me, I thought listening to podcasts as much as I can would be the closest thing possible. Only thing is I don't have anyone to practice speaking French with. I think that's really important.

    For now, though, learning the basics 🙂
    Bon chance to both of us!

  2. Oui, bon chance! I’m trying to study abroad too so I can get a better feel of the language. Hopefully that’ll happen sometimes soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

