NaNoWriMo is coming…brace yourselves

There’s this thing called NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) that I’ve been looking forward to every year since I was in 8th grade.  Basically I spend a month writing a novel while battling several classes and work! 50,000 words may seem like a lot…until you realize that you’ve only written half of your story.  I’ve accomplished the goal of writing 50,000 words twice, but I have never actually finished writing a book.  I’m being completely honest.  But this year is going to change.  I’m going to write like I’ve never written before! That is, if I can get past the first day which is filled with other academic stuff.  At least this year NaNoWriMo starts on a Friday. Hallelujah! I’m trying to plan my novel, but I’ve been spending so much time trying to make sure that my character was up to date and not cliché.  I mean she’s cool and all, but I don’t want her to be like other characters that I’ve read or seen on television for the past few years or so. 

If you want to know who she is, her name is Samantha Contador.  She has terrible people skills and finds herself watching old Japanese movies in her spare time.  She hates her father because she believes that he had something to do with her mother’s death but she can’t confirm anything.  Her best friend is her older sister who is a way better role model than she is.  

Sam in a tiny nutshell.  

I didn’t describe her well, but I just put some more items about her on my wall.  Now I can say that if I were to ever meet her in real life I would, honestly, hate her.  Or dislike her a lot.  At least at this point in time.  Characters are supposed to grow. 😀

 

Leave a Reply

