Daily Spiel # 5: Gaming and Schooling: Keeping a Balance

I love video games but I’m also a college student.  As someone with high aspirations I know that it’s important to keep a balance between leisurely things and things things that are actually important.  Well, by “things that are actually important” I meant playing video games, watching movies and TV shows (i.e. Netflix), and browsing the web.  These things are also important because doing what you enjoy is important.  Working on homework all the time while being stressed can be detrimental to your health.  HOWEVER, when leisurely activities take over other things that are important THAT IS NOT OKAY.  It’s irresponsible.  For example, if you have a new game and you’re skipping class to play it,  THAT IS NOT OKAY (not only is it not okay for you but if you’re rooming with someone in a dorm that is the size of a toaster and you know that they are there when you are not, you are taking up their time for privacy and if your roommate is like me they value their privacy).  Even if it’s just a general education requirement.  Still not okay.  What that says is you would rather be doing something that does not get to your aspirations (unless you’re an aspiring professional gamer (then I guess the next question is why are you in school)).

Now I know that it can be hard especially with GTA , Skyrim and Mass Effect.  I’ve been there.  That’s why I’m writing this.  But priorities will help you be alive.  It will help you strive and become successful! Or at least I hope.  I really could be just saying stuff.  Priorities work for me.  As a computer science major and potential employee of a gaming company saying this I actually mean what I say.  I LOVE video games.  I LOVE reading.  I can get caught up in both without realizing it and later suffer for it.

 

Prioritize.  It works.

Leave a Reply

